• Background Image

    Louis Wood

    August 17, 2018

August 17, 2018

Louis Wood

Louis WoodMy Name is Louis Wood.

I ‘m a deli employee at Best Market in Commack. In 2014 I applied to work at Best Market.  I had experience working in a small deli, and I heard that Best Market was a growing company, and I thought I could grow with it.  I worked hard and quickly got promoted to assistant deli manager.

My life was great and my future looked bright.  I was physically active.  I loved yoga, handball, and jogging. I was working hard.  The wages were low but I was still saving money.

It seemed like we were understaffed all the time at work.  It also seemed liked safety just wasn’t a priority for the management of Best Market.  I have had multiple injuries at the store.  In 2015 I slipped and fell on a greasy floor. We had been complaining to management about the floor for months, but the floor was never cleaned.   I missed 2.5 months of work because of that injury.  I’ve chipped my knuckle on a broken and jagged deli shelf.  I’ve had a box fall on my head when I pulled a stacked produce cart which had broken wheels which I didn’t know about.

I’ve lost all my life’s savings. I am in constant pain. I’m now 29.  I can’t do any of the things that I used to love. I can hardly walk at all now. 

In 2017, I was rushed by management to get a job done and hurt my knee.  I was supposed to be working lighter duty after this, but we were short staffed and I was once again rushed by management.  I tripped over old lumpy mats which Best market uses and further blew out my knee.  I haven’t been able to return to work since.

I have since had many doctors visits and I had to get knee surgery.  Best Market has appealed paying for just about every medical bill.  Every payment the judge has ordered has been late and for less money than it was supposed to be.  They’ve denied payments for transportation to the doctor, payments for pre surgery medicine, and post-surgery pain medicine.

I’ve lost all my life’s savings.  I am in constant pain.  I’m now 29.  I can’t do any of the things that I used to love.  I can hardly walk at all now.  My mother and I are now worrying that we may not be able to afford rent soon and we don’t know what we are going to do.

0 Comments

Leave A Comment

Leave a Reply